Calendar of Updates

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


> Register a free account to use forum features

Welcome to Calendar of Updates forums! Guest can view some contents but cannot use many forum features (example: create a new topic, post in existing topic, subscribe to receive email notification on new post, create a blog, send a private message, earn CoU-dos), please register a free account now to unlock this features that are available to registered members only.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Enigma Software Group did it again?
Donna
post Mar 13 2005, 08:44 PM
Post #1


Solar
*********

Group: Admin - Site
Posts: 12028
Calendar Posts: 8745
Joined: 11-October 03
From: Macau
Member No.: 1

MSMVP


QUOTE
Engima Software Group was known for exploiting the name "spybot" in its domain names and online advertising. These objectionable business practices were employed primarily from late-2002 to mid-2004.
- See http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm#sh_note

Their product is not classified anymore as rogue/suspect but little we know... they are doing something again.

QUOTE
INFO: adarons.com / Index.dat Suite

Overview

This document is intended as a warning to those that come accross the website mentioned below.

More Information

I came accross the following webpage a few minutes ago and with respect to their use of the Index.dat Suite name, would like to warn everyone, this product/webpage is NOT related to Ur I.T. Mate Group or Index.dat Suite in ANY manner.

http://www.adorons.com/index.dat_suite/index.dat_suite.html
http://www.adorons.com/index.dat/index.dat.html

The domain is owned by the Engima Software Group, well known in the antispyware community for their underhand practices.

Those looking for Index.dat Suite can find it at the URL below.

http://support.it-mate.co.uk/index.asp?mod...=index.datsuite


The above was published today (Published: 13/03/2005 19:51:08 / Updated: 13/03/2005 20:05:33) in Ur I.T. Mate Group's Knowledge Base

They should know that Index.dat Suite is already in use by Ur I.T. Mate Group. Why use it in their URL? WHy not use http://www.adorons.com only instead of http://www.adorons.com/index.dat_suite/index.dat_suite.html or http://www.adorons.com/adoronseasy_EZ.html ?

Waiting for search engines to crawl their site for keywords "index.dat suite" so users will download their Adorons Easy Security instead of the what we only ONE AND ONLY Index.dat Suite by Ur I.T. Mate Group?

WAITING.GIF

@Steven, Thanks for publishing that KB and for the alert WAVE.GIF
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MysteryFCM
post Mar 13 2005, 09:02 PM
Post #2


Phishing Phanatic
****

Group: Member - Security Expert
Posts: 351
Calendar Posts: 128
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Tyne & Wear, UK
Member No.: 497



QUOTE
@Steven, Thanks for publishing that KB and for the alert  WAVE.GIF


My pleasure and thanks for mentioning this here smile.gif

Btw, on a side note, I love what you've done with your site wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MysteryFCM
post Apr 7 2005, 02:16 AM
Post #3


Phishing Phanatic
****

Group: Member - Security Expert
Posts: 351
Calendar Posts: 128
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Tyne & Wear, UK
Member No.: 497



Just came accross another one (also run by ESG)

hxxp://www.spywareremove.com/blog/spyware_...xdat_suite.html

Added it to the list of site's in the KB article.

This post has been edited by MysteryFCM: Apr 30 2007, 09:57 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hewee
post Apr 7 2005, 05:40 AM
Post #4


hewee
*********

Group: Member - MVC
Posts: 3863
Calendar Posts: 3
Joined: 12-May 04
From: Rio Linda, Ca., USA
Member No.: 660



Well i'st blocked by my hosts file so I will not go there MysteryFCM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoKenny
post Apr 7 2005, 07:24 AM
Post #5


Contributor
*********

Group: Non-Member - Guests
Posts: 3811
Calendar Posts: 324
Joined: 26-November 03
Member No.: 57



QUOTE(hewee @ Apr 7 2005, 01:40 AM)
Well i'st blocked by my hosts file so I will not go there MysteryFCM.
*
AOL
Mee too WAVE.GIF
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hewee
post Apr 7 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #6


hewee
*********

Group: Member - MVC
Posts: 3863
Calendar Posts: 3
Joined: 12-May 04
From: Rio Linda, Ca., USA
Member No.: 660



Yep if it's bad we don't have to go see. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Donna
post Apr 7 2005, 08:42 AM
Post #7


Solar
*********

Group: Admin - Site
Posts: 12028
Calendar Posts: 8745
Joined: 11-October 03
From: Macau
Member No.: 1

MSMVP


QUOTE(MysteryFCM @ Apr 6 2005, 06:16 PM)
Just came accross another one (also run by ESG)

http://www.spywareremove.com/blog/spyware_...xdat_suite.html

Added it to the list of site's in the KB article.
*


Nice catch again! smile.gif

Have you contacted Enigma?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MysteryFCM
post Apr 7 2005, 09:11 AM
Post #8


Phishing Phanatic
****

Group: Member - Security Expert
Posts: 351
Calendar Posts: 128
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Tyne & Wear, UK
Member No.: 497



Apologies for the delay (just got back from work).

I fired off an e-mail to them when I found Adarons, never heard back though (doesn't really suprise me).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TeMerc
post Apr 8 2005, 02:33 AM
Post #9


Countermeasures Team Leader
*****

Group: Admin - Forum
Posts: 696
Calendar Posts: 337
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Phx. AZ. USA
Member No.: 501

MSMVP


I posted this over at Spyware Warriors in our 'Investigation' room, so Eric can have a look at whats going on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
YoKenny
post Apr 8 2005, 03:21 AM
Post #10


Contributor
*********

Group: Non-Member - Guests
Posts: 3811
Calendar Posts: 324
Joined: 26-November 03
Member No.: 57



Nice article and chart:
Spyware Removal Tools Compared
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MysteryFCM
post Apr 8 2005, 09:01 AM
Post #11


Phishing Phanatic
****

Group: Member - Security Expert
Posts: 351
Calendar Posts: 128
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Tyne & Wear, UK
Member No.: 497



Thanks for letting me know smile.gif

I should also mention, the first link referenced in the article now leads to a 404 error (and unless I'm mistaken, the second one's contents have changed).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 05:32 AM